V G Sasikumar elected as President of Raipur Kerala Samajam

Voters during Kerala Samajam election

V G Sasikumar was elected as President of Raipur Kerala Samajam, election to which was conducted on Sunday. Similarly, Advocate B Gopakumar (Ex Asstt Solicitor General of India) was elected as Vice President followed by T C Shaji was elected as General Secretary, and S Subhash and Philip Samuel were elected as Secretaries. Thomas K Antony was elected as Treasurer while Sunil Pillai was elected as Joint Secretary of the Samajam.  

The newly elected office bearers of Raipur Kerala Samajam.

The 36th election of Raipur Kerala Samajam witnessed a record number of voters’ turnout despite Covid pandemic.

In view of the possibility of a decrease in the number voters due to Covid-19 fear, the society tried to unanimously elect the office bearers without elections.

However, after the situation turned favourable for election, voting was held on Sunday at Adarsh Vidyalaya, Devendra Nagar, Raipur while complying with all Covid-19 protocols. Election Officer Dr Jacob Zakaria conducted the election.

All the members were instructed to wear masks and sanitize hands. The complex was also completely sanitized. Separate voting arrangements were made for elderly members. It did not take more than 5 minutes for any member to cast his or her vote. The entire election process was organized in a fairly and systematic manner.

J Samuel, N P George Kutty and V G Shashi Kumar were in fray for the post of President. A record 829 votes were cast in this election, just 5 votes less than the previous record. At the time of Corona, where there was a belief that people would not come to vote, the voters of Kerala Samajam used their voting rights in compliance with the entire security rules.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here