Reservation of seats for Birgaon Municipal Corporation elections held

District Collector Dr S Bharathi Dasan conducting reservation process.

District Collector and Election Officer Dr S Bharathi Dasan on Thursday reserved the wards of Birgaon Municipal Corporation (BMC) for civic body election-2021.

The reservation of wards for the 40 wards of Birgaon was done at Shaheed Smarak Bhawan in Raipur on Thursday.  The number of reserved wards was finalized according to the 2011 census.

 As many as five wards were reserved for the Scheduled Castes category and they are Dr Radhakrishnan Ward (Ward 22), Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh Ward (Ward 26), Chhatrapati Shivaji Ward (Ward 15), Hari Thakur Ward (Ward 8) and Dr Rajendra Prasad Ward (Ward 2) respectively. Two wards such as Jai Budhadev Ward (ward 27) and Maa Banjari Mata Ward (Ward 10) was reserved for Scheduled Tribe category.

Similarly, Danveer Bhamashah Ward (Ward 03), Swami Vivekananda Ward (Ward 04), Maa Parameshwari Ward (Ward 25), Pt. Ravi Shankar Shukla Ward (Ward 13), Kailash Nagar Ward (Ward 21), Dr Bhimrao Ambedkar ward (ward 29), Bharatmata ward (ward 30), Indira Gandhi ward (ward 34), Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel ward (ward 39) and Dr Rabindranath Tagore Ward (Ward 40) were reserved for Other Backward Classes category. As many as 23 wards are unreserved.

Of the 40 wards in the municipal corporation, 13 wards are reserved for women. Out of 02 wards for Scheduled Caste, Harithakur Ward (Ward 08), Maa Banjari Dham Ward (Ward 10) for Scheduled Tribe, Swami Vivekananda Ward (Ward 04), Kailash Nagar Ward (Ward 21), Dr. Rabindranath Tagore Ward (Ward 40) and Guru Ghasidas Ward (Ward 01), Shaheed Kaushal Yadav Ward (Ward 06), Thakur Pyare Lal Ward (Ward 11), Pt. Sundalal Sharma Ward (Ward 20), Dr. Khoobchand Baghel Ward (Ward 33), Minimata Ward (Ward 37) and Maa Karmamata Ward (Ward 38) are for unreserved women.

Public representatives, Joint Collector and Deputy District Election Officer Rajeev Pandey, Commissioner of Municipal Corporation Birgaon, Srikant Verma and common citizens were also present on the occasion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here