Kondagaon archers dominates state level archery competition

The champions of Archery with the guests during prize distribution function.

A state level junior archery competition was organised at Bemetara on Sunday under the aegis of the State Archery Association.

A total of 124 archers from 15 districts of Chhattisgarh had participated in the competition. Players from Shivtarai, Bijapur and Kondagaon proved their motto in the competition.

Jayaprakash and Nakula of Shivtarai finished first and second in Boys Indian Round, Rashmi of Rajnandgaon and Sulochana of Shivatarai finished first and second in Girls Indian Round. In the 70 meter Round, Rohit and Virender of Shivtarai stood first and second respectively. In the girls’ Recurve round, Durgesh Nandini of Raipur came first and Diksha Nayak stood second.

In the Boys Compound Round, Ashok of Bijapur and Shivam of Raipur finished first and second respectively. In Girls Compound round, Sunit Mudsa of Bijapur and Sanila Netam of Kondagaon won first and second positions respectively.

The winning players will go to Dehradun to participate in the national competition in March.

Bemetara MLA Ashish Chhabra distributed the prizes to the winning players and honored the archery coaches from all over the state.

District Congress Committee president  Bansi Patel, State Archery Association President Kailash Murarka, Executive President Manmohan Agarwal, Bemetara Municipal President Shakuntala Sahu, Senior Congress leader Avinash Tiwari and other citizens of the city were present. Suman Goswami and Manoj Sharma played an important role in making the programme a success.

Six players of Kondagaon district have been selected for National Level Archery Championship to be organised in Dehradun from March 7 to 15. These talented players are Ramita Shori, Neha Markam, Roshan Oram, Smita Mohta, Mukesh Korram and Sanika Netam.

It is worth mentioning here that these players have undergone rigorous five-year training under the guidance of coach Trilochan Mahant of Indo Tibetan Border Police (ITBP).

Coach Mahant said that selection of six players among 150 players was an achievement in itself and focus will be on gold medal in National-level competition.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here