Chhattisgarh clinches 13 medals in Federation Cup National Thai Boxing

Chhattisgarh Thai Boxing team.

On the final day of the 7th Federation Cup National Thai Boxing Championship, Pranav Sahu, Manish Kumar Sahu and Jageshwar won the gold while Rajat Raj, Khilesh, Pemeshwar, Rohit Jagne and Deepak won the silver and Lakshminarayan and Drishti won the bronze.

Overall, Chhattisgarh won 13 medals, including five gold, five silver and three bronze, in the championship.

The gold medalists Jageshwar Dadsena, Manish Kumar Sahu and Pranav Kumar Sahu.

Telangana won 12 gold medals to top the table, Maharashtra secured the second position with 10 gold and Uttar Pradesh bagged the third place by winning 10 gold medals of the Federation Cup National Thai Boxing Championship held at Hyderabad from February  26 to 28.

Jageshwar Dadsena (-75 kg, 17-19 years) of Sri Gujarati School Raipur, Pranav Sahu (-60kg, 14-17 years) and Manish Kumar Sahu of Durg (65kg, 14-17 years) bagged gold medals, Rajat Raj Ojha (-56kg, 17-19 years) and Khilesh Verma (-60kg, 17-19 years) of Sri Gujarati School Raipur and Deepak Barve (-32kg, 12-14 years) of Durg, Pameshwar (-44kg, 14-17 years), Rohit Jagane (-52kg, 14-17 years) won silver medals and Ku Drishti Patel (-52kg, 14-17 years) of Sri Gujarati School Raipur and Lakshminarayan Sahu (-56kg, 14-17 years) of Durg won the bronze medal.

Chhattisgarh Thai Boxing Association president Anis Memon receiving citation from South movie actor Suman Talwar

It is noteworthy that on Saturday Manish Kumar Pal (-48 kg, 17-19 years) and Jayant Tandi (-48kg, 17-19 years) won gold by defeating their rivals and Arpan Chandrakar (-28kg, 10 -12 years) of had won the bronze medal.

In this way, on the last day of the competition, the Thai boxing team of Chhattisgarh has made the state proud by winning a total of 13 medals.

Two players Yashil Sahu and Rahul Sharma of Durg were eliminated from the medal race after losing in the quarter-finals.

 It is noteworthy that about 500 players, officials from 20 states are participating in Junior, Sub Junior, Senior (Male-Female) category of the championship. The championship was organized by the Thai Boxing Indian Federation (TIF) in collaboration with the Telangana Thai Boxing Association. According to the medal table, host Telangana (12G 10S 17B) stood first, Maharashtra (10 09 15) second, Uttar Pradesh (10 02 06) third. Chhattisgarh (05G 05S 03B) was ranked ninth.

In the championship, Anis Memon and Tikeshwari Sahu were included as jury. Ram Kaushal, the coach of the state team and Nazma Parveen of Kanker discharged the responsibility of the team manager.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here