Home National Union Jal Shakti Minister Announces 3rd National Water Awards

Union Jal Shakti Minister Announces 3rd National Water Awards

National Water Awards

In the Best State Category Uttar Pradesh Awarded First Prize, Rajasthan Second and Tamil Nadu Third

Delhi, Jan 8

Union Minister of Jal Shakti Gajendra Singh Shekhawat announced 3rd National Water Awards-2020, here on Friday.  In the Best State category, Uttar Pradesh has been awarded first prize, followed by Rajasthan and Tamil Nadu. Vini Mahajan, Secretary, DDWS was also present on the occasion.

Speaking on the occasion, Shekhawat stated that water is fundamental to life. India’s current water requirement is estimated to be around 1,100 billion cubic meters per year, projected to go up to 1,447 billion cubic meters by 2050. Water as a resource is crucial to India, which is one of the fastest growing economies in the world. While India has more than 18% of the world’s population, it has only 4% of world’s renewable water resources. It is in this backdrop that the National Water Awards (NWA) were instituted to recognize and encourage exemplary work and efforts made by States, Districts, individuals, organizations, etc across the country in attaining the government’s vision of a ‘Jal Samridh Bharat’, stated the minister.

The Union Minister said that considering the fact that surface water & ground water are integral part of the water cycle, it was felt necessary to institute a unified National Water Award with the objectives of encouraging the stakeholders to adopt holistic approach towards water resources management in the country. Also, it strives to create awareness among the people about the importance of water and attempts to motivate them to adopt best water usage practices, added the minister.

The first National Water Award was launched by the Jal Shakti Ministry in 2018. National Water Awards have provided a good opportunity to start-ups as well as leading organizations to engage and deliberate with senior policymakers on how to adopt the best water resources management practices in India.

To encourage and recognize individuals and organizations doing exemplary work in the field of water resources management, the Department of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation, Ministry of Jal Shakti is giving 57 awards to States, Organizations, Individuals etc. in 11 different categories – Best State, Best District, Best Village Panchayat, Best Urban Local Body, Best Media (Print & Electronic), Best School, Best Institution/RWA/Religious organization for Campus usage, Best Industry, Best NGO, Best Water User Association, and Best Industry for CSR Activity. Some of these categories have sub- categories for different zones of the country. The award winners in different categories will be given a citation, trophy and cash prize.

The list of awardees in various categories is given at Annexure-A.



Annexure – A

National Water Awards 2020

List of winners

Sl. No.NameCategory(with zone, if any)Rank
 Uttar Pradesh“Best State”1st
 Tamil Nadu3rd
 Muzaffarnagar, Uttar Pradesh“Best District”– North Zone1st
 Shahid Bhagat Singh Nagar, Punjab2nd
 Thiruvanathapuram, Kerala“Best District”– South Zone1st
 Kadapa, Andhra Pradesh2nd
 East Champaran, Bihar“Best District”– East Zone1st
 Godda, Jharkhand2nd
 Indore, Madhya Pradesh“Best District”– West Zone1st
 Vadodara, Gujarat2nd(Joint Winner)
 Banswara, Rajasthan2nd(Joint Winner)
 Goalpara, Assam“Best District”– North-East Zone1st
 Siang, Arunachal Pradesh2nd
 Dhaspad, Almora, Uttarakhand“Best Village Panchayat”– North Zone1st
 Jamola, Rajouri, J&K2nd
 Balua, Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh3rd
 Yelerampura Panchayat, Tumakuru District, Karnataka“Best Village Panchayat”– South Zone1st
 Vellaputhur Panchayat, Chengalpattu District, Tamil Nadu2nd
 Elappully Grama Panchayat, Palakkad District, Kerala3rd
 Telari Panchayat, Gaya District, Bihar“Best Village Panchayat”– East Zone1st
 Chhindiya Panchayat, Surajpur District, Chhattisgarh2nd
 Guni Panchayat, Khunti District, Jharkhand3rd
 Takhatgadh, Sabarkantha, Gujarat“Best Village Panchayat”– West Zone1st
 Kankapar, Kachchh, Gujarat2nd
 Surdi, Solapur, Maharashtra3rd
 Sialsir, Sirchip, Mizoram“Best Village Panchayat”– North-East Zone1st
 Aminda Simsanggre , West Garo Hills, Meghalaya2nd
 Chambagre, West Garo Hills, Meghalaya3rd
 Vapi Urban Local Body, Gujarat“Best Urban Local Body”1st
 Dapoli Nagar Panchayat, Maharashtra2nd
 Madurai Municipal Corporation, Tamil Nadu3rd
 Mission Paani (Network 18)“Best Media (Print & Electronic)”1st
 Agrowon, Sakal Media Pvt. Ltd.(Adinath Dattatray Chavan)2nd
 Sandesh Daily Bhuj Edition3rd
 Govt. Girls Hr. Secondary School, Kaveripattinam, Tamilnadu“Best School”1st
 Amalorpavam Lourds Academy, Thiruvalluar, Puducherry2nd
 Amity International School, Noida, UP3rd(Joint Winner)
 Govt. Middle School, Manapet, Puducherry3rd(Joint Winner)
 Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board, Jammu“Best Institution/RWA/Religious organization for Campus usage”1st
 IIT Gandhinagar, Gujarat2nd
 lndian Oil Corporation Limited Faridabad3rd
 Welspun India Textile Ltd., Gujarat“Best Industry”1st
 Hyundai Motor India Ltd., Tamil Nadu2nd
 Trident (Textile) Ltd., Punjab3rd(Joint Winner)
 Steel Authority of India Ltd., New Delhi3rd(Joint Winner)
 Coastal Salinity Prevention Cell, Ahmedabad“Best NGO”1st
 Vivekananda Kendra NARDEP, Kanyakumari2nd
 Gramvikas Sanstha, Aurangabad3rd(Joint Winner)
 Vivekananda Research and Training Institute, Bhavnagar3rd(Joint Winner)
 Panchgachiya MDTW WUA, Hooghly, West Bengal“Best Water User Association”1st
 Hatinada Champa Purulia, West Bengal2nd
 Amtore Mini River Lift Irrigation WUA, Purulia, West Bengal3rd
 ITC Limited, Kolkata, West Bengal“Best Industry for CSR activities”1st
 Adani Foundation, Gujarat2nd
 HAL, Bengaluru, Karnataka3rd(Joint Winner)
 Dharampal Satyapal Ltd., Noida,Uttar Pradesh3rd(Joint Winner)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

error: Content is protected !!